Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka referred to an incident which took place during his imprisonment, during the Salakuna program broadcast by Hiru TV.

He disclosed what he had to experience during those hard times as well as how his family was harassed. He further said that his wife was restricted from coming to see him while in remand. Also he said that they caused the marriage of his daughter to break.

The CID has recovered ruggerite Vaseem Thajudeen’s mobile phone who died mysteriously while it was in the possession of a person in Agarapathana in Nuwara Eliya.

Police Media spokesman ASP Ruwan Gunasekera said that a certain individual had picked up this mobile phone during the vehicle accident connected with Thajudeen’s death in 2012.

42 ministers of the national government swore in today before the President. 11 MPs of the SLFP are included among the cabinet ministers who swore in today. Mangala Samaraweera swore in earlier as the Minister of Foreign Affairs. The resolution for the appointment of 48 cabinet ministers passed in Parliament yesterday.

1. Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe - Minister of national policy and economic affairs

2. John Amaratunge - Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Affairs

63 members were absent from the house as the vote took place to obtain approval for the extended portfolios of the national government. The JVP voted against the proposition and the TNA was absent. Also the National Freedom Front, the People's United Front and Udaya Gammanpila voted against the motion.

The list of the other MPs who were absent at the time vote was called is as follows:

An incident involving four who terrorized two young men, took naked photographs of them and threatened to publish them on the internet is reported from Pindeniya area.

It is reported that they had requested a ransom of Rs1lakh in order to avoid carrying out their threat.   

The Honorable Speaker appointed MP R Sambandan as the Opposition Leader of the Parliament. However MP Kumara Welgama was also nominated for the post.

MP Vimal Weerawansa mentioned at the Parliament today, that a letter endorsed by 56 MPs, was handed over to the President Maithripala Sirisena to the effect that the opposition leadership must be granted to MP Kumara Welgama.

Professor Sarath Wijesuriya of University of Colombo stated that former President Mahinda Rajapakshe as former Chairman of SLFP caused severe damage to SLFP by extending his tenure. He stressed this point when former Chairman of SLFP Mahinda Rajapakshe was also seated beside current Chairman Maithripala Sirisena.

Professor Sarath Wijesuriya delivered the guest speech at Commemoration of the 64th Anniversary of SLFP held at Rajarata Navodaya Stadium in Kanduruwela, Polonnaruwa.

It was reported that MP Thewarapperuma’s son had died recently and it is said that he avoided participating at the First Session in Parliament yesterday due to this reason.

His son had passed away owing to a sudden illness and the funeral had been attended by a large number of politicians.

Karu Speaker, Thilanga, Selvam, Gayantha and Lakshman too are awarded portfolios.
Gammanpila disgraced for talk about armour

The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament commenced this morning at the Parliament chamber at Sri Jayawardanapura.

MP Karu Jayasuriya was elected Speaker, proposed and seconded by Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe and former Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala De Silva respectively.

The first sitting of the new Parliament commenced today and an utterance made by MP Udaya Gammanpila created a heated atmosphere in the house.  

He started speaking about an incident related to the use of armour and Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe stood up and responded against him.

The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament commenced today and there were fathers and sons amid them as well as husbands and wives.

 Among them was Daya Gamage with his wife and Mahinda Rajapakshe with his son.

The Central Environmental Authority has issued the environmental protection license to enable the controversial factory to restart operations under several conditions.

The particular factory was involved in the recent water contamination of Kelani River due to oil leakage. Water supply to several areas of Colombo and suburbs were interrupted on August 17th after water of the Kelani River was contaminated due to oil leakage from this private factory located in Biyagama.

Ishant Sharma had a brief spat with Dhammika Prasad during the visiting Indian team’s second innings on the fourth day of the third cricket Test in Colombo. The incident happened in the 76th and final over of the Indian second innings, which was being bowled by Dhammika Prasad.

Ishant has been already fined  for committing the same offence, twice, during the second Test.

“My son is talented, but Mahela is more talented.
I desire him to be playing golf.
Sir Don Bradman was the ultimate batsman Sanga is not equivalent to him”

Sanga’s departure has never yet ceased to be the topic of discussion among cricket fans. Sports commentators still continue to evaluate him. But his father Mr Kshema Sangakkara expressed a slight disapproval about the cricket life of his son.

He conveys his disapproval logically, with reference to technical knowledge. Sanga’s father says that he could tell when his son is about to be dismissed merely by observing his manner of playing and says that his predictions have not yet gone wrong. He expressed these views at a discussion with The Indian Express.

He shot himself in the head

Karunaa Ammaan alias Vinayagamoorthi Muralidaran said at an interview with an Indian TV channel, that the LTTE leader committed suicide by shooting himself in the head with his pistol.

Also the former LTTE leader Karunaa Ammaan stated that the death of Prabhakaran’s wife and daughter was caused by a shell attack. He made this special statement at an interview with the South Indian TV channel Puthiyathalaimurai

[1]      «      151   |   152   |   153      »      [167]

Recent Gossip Post

Iranamata Ida Denna Ba Wasthuwe - Lanka Nadimal
Iranamata Ida Denna Ba Wasthuwe
Lanka Nadimal

Lan Lan Wela Rahase - Chanaka Ambegoda
Lan Lan Wela Rahase
Chanaka Ambegoda

Sihine Mage - Reshani Wijewardana
Sihine Mage
Reshani Wijewardana

Susume Dewatenna One - Roshan Cyril
Susume Dewatenna One
Roshan Cyril

Bambari Mage - Buddhika Rambukwella
Bambari Mage
Buddhika Rambukwella

Diwya Prathimawak - Indika Liyanage
Diwya Prathimawak
Indika Liyanage

Sandawan Re - Janaka Priyankara
Sandawan Re
Janaka Priyankara

Mata Duka Thiya - Manjula Wickramaarachchi
Mata Duka Thiya
Manjula Wickramaarachchi

Ashirwada Soya - Eranga Mithun
Ashirwada Soya
Eranga Mithun

Duras Wee Oya - Saman Jayasingha
Duras Wee Oya
Saman Jayasingha

Top 10 Commenters